the muffin saga, part 2

by Isobel

Well, part 3, but the first batch of muffins I made were practically straight from the Angelica Kitchen cookbook, so I didn’t include those on here. Anyway, I’m pretty sure Harrison has had a muffin for breakfast for the past 2 weeks, at least…he is not objecting, however.

If you can’t tell after this recipe, I have a lot of cranberries to use up. Good thing they last forever in the fridge. (I actually made this recipe twice, but the first time I forgot to put in the cranberries. It was a sad moment in my life.)

cimg1180

Cran-Apple Bran Muffins (makes 6)

3/4 c whole wheat pastry flour

1/2 c oat bran

1 tsp baking powder

1/4 tsp baking soda

1/4 c sucanat

1 tsp cinnamon

1/2 tsp ground ginger

1/4 tsp nutmeg

1/4 tsp salt

1/2 c apple sauce (one of those individual containers)

1 tbsp apple juice

1/3 c soy milk

1/6 c canola oil

1/4 – 1/2 tsp vanilla

3/4 c peeled, diced apple (I vote for Pink Lady) – it’s about half of a large apple

1/2 c halved or quartered fresh cranberries

(1) Preheat oven to 400 degrees and grease or line a muffin tin. (2) In a large bowl, mix together the dry ingredients (flour through salt). (3) In a separate bowl, mix together wet ingredients (apple sauce through vanilla) until well combined. (4) Add wet ingredients to dry ingredients and mix until just combined. (5) Stir in apples and cranberries. (6) Pour into prepared muffin tin and bake for 20 – 22 minutes, until a toothpick comes out clean.

mmm breakfast (and can I just add this thought: peanut butter on that muffin…amazing)

