random ingredients lunch

by Isobel

I had a bunch of random things in the fridge, and I decided I ought to do a little bit of cleaning in there. Plus, it was a chilly day, so I made soup, seeing as it is possibly my favorite genre of food. (can you have a food genre?) So, basically, if you have the same weird leftovers that I do, and no time at all, this would be a pretty good (tasty and helpful) thing to make, I believe.

cimg1201

Wintery Soup (for one)

1 tsp olive oil

1/4 onion, chopped

1 stalk celery, choped

1/2 large carrot, chopped

1 tsp dried thyme

1/2 cup broccoli florets

1 cup halved button/cremini mushrooms

1/4 cup flat leaf parsley, chopped

1 tbsp tomato paste

small handful each of frozen peas and edamame

salt and pepper to taste

1 cup cooked wheat berries (or other grain, whatever you like)

(1) Saute onions and celery in oil until the onions are translucent. (2) Add carrots, thyme, mushrooms and broccoli, and enough water to cover, and simmer until vegetables are just tender. (3) Stir in tomato paste, parsley and peas and edamame and cook until the edamame and peas are done. (4) Stir in wheat berries and warm, then add salt and pepper to taste and consume!

(P.S.: the measurements might be a bit off, since I didn’t really measure everything when I made the soup. You may want to adjust a tiny bit)

