yes…I really like peanut butter

by Isobel

As is probably obvious, I am vaguely obsessed with peanut butter, and chocolate, and cinnamon, especially when combined. And I wanted to make cookies to distribute seeing as I have not gotten to give anyone at school cookies in a whole month (!). I’m sure it was tragic on all sides…

So I basically just took a peanut butter cookie recipe and made it even better (amazing, I know). Sadly, I burned the bottoms of half of the cookies because the cookie sheets were overlapping a little bit in the oven (whoops) and the one on top got heated up a little too fast thanks to the heat conduction. Oh science…It’s ok, though, the tops are still good. I can’t bring myself to throw out an entire half batch of cookies…

Anyway, here is the recipe (and a picture, in the lovely morning sunlight):

cimg1218

Cocoa Cinnamon Peanutbutter Cookies (makes 20-24 cookies)

sort of overflowing 1 cup whole wheat pastry flour

3 tbsp cocoa powder

3/4 tsp cinnamon

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/4 tsp salt

1/2 cup peanut butter

1/4 cup apple sauce (or oil)

1/4 cup water

1 tbsp flaxmeal

3/4 cup sucanat

1 tsp vanilla

(1) Preheat oven to 375 degrees F. (2) In a medium bowl, combine water and flaxseeds and let sit for a couple minutes.  Then add peanut butter, applesauce, vanilla and sucanat and mix well. (3) In a separate bowl, combine flour, cinnamon, cocoa, salt and baking soda. (4) Add wet ingredients to dry ingredients and mix well. (5) Roll into balls (or just drop with a spoon) onto baking sheets. Flatten them a bit with a fork (you might want to oil the fork – the dough is sticky…that’s why my flattening wasn’t so beautiful). (6) Bake for 10-12 minutes. Let rest on the pan for a few minutes before transferring to a rack.

PS: This is really good eat-without-baking dough…

