a big spicy blob of stew

by Isobel

I guess I have been so excited about my cookbooks recently that I have only been inspired to invent when I only have a random mixture of ingredients and leftovers at the end of the week. And these things seem to always end up being some form of soup, although this one was very not soupy, since I didn’t use all that much broth. BUT, at least it is proof that I am not being entirely dependent on cookbooks. I can comfort myself with that… (and the really good food that comes out of the Angelica Kitchen Cookbook…) It was also the perfect thing to have after having spent all day using keds as ice skates (scary, by the way) on the paths to class and want something nice and hot.

cimg1220

Curried Red Lentil Quinoa Stew (serves 2)

1/2 tbsp olive oil

1/2 onion, diced

2 stalks celery, chopped

2 medium carrots, sliced (diced sweet potatoes would probably be nice, too)

1/3 cup red lentils

~1/2 tsp garam masala

~1/4-1/2 tsp cinnamon

~1/4 tsp coriander

~1/4 tsp nutmeg

1/4 tsp salt, or more to taste

2 cups water or vegetable broth

1 1/2 cup broccoli florets

1/2 cup diced tomato (I just used 1/2 cup of my jarred tomatoes)

~1 1/3 cup cooked quinoa (if you had cooked 1/2 cup dry, it’s 2/3 of whatever you have after that…you can use more, I just used what I had in the fridge)

2-3 tbsp chopped flat leaf parsley

juice from 1/8 large lemon (1/2 tbsp?)

(1) Heat oil in a medium pot. Sautee onions until soft. (2) Add carrots and celery and sautee a couple more minutes. (3) Add lentils, spices and vegetable broth. Bring to a boil, then lower to simmer and cook, covered, until lentils are done. (5) BUT WAIT. 5 minutes-ish before the lentils are done, add the broccoli florets to cook and then re-cover. (6) When lentils and broccoli are done, transfer some (half?) of the mixture (without broccoli) to a blender or food processor and puree. (7) Return puree to pot, add tomatoes and quinoa, and some more broth if you want it soupier, and heat through. (8 ) Stir in lemon juice, garnish with parsley and it is ready to serve.

PS: sorry about the spice measurements. I didn’t really measure mine very well, so I can’t be certain about those, but that is an educated guess. You can adjust based on your taste. I have faith.

