Peanutty Wheat Meat

by Isobel

I needed something to go with my baked sweet potato…that was pretty much all the inspiration for this. And I had seitan (I found a really good brand, which was exciting, since I do not have quite enough time (nor the ingredients) to make my own. I don’t know how much there is to say about this, really. It’s pretty simple, but very tasty. I was actually pretty surprised it worked, because I thought that the peanut sauce flavor wouldn’t work with the seitan seasoning, but it did, so that was a pleasant discovery. And, most importantly, it complimented my baked sweet potato quite nicely.

cimg1228

Seitan in Peanut Sauce (Serves 2)

8 oz prepared seitan, in small-ish pieces

2 tbsp unsalted peanut butter

1/3-1/2 cup vegetable broth (I actually used the juice from jarred tomatoes…)

1/4 tsp ground ginger

1/8 tsp cayenne

1/4-1/2 tsp (to taste) salt

(1) Preheat oven to 400 degrees F. (2) Blend together all ingredients except seitan. (3) Coat the seitan in sauce, lay in a glass dish and bake for ~10 minutes.

How easy was that? (and it takes no grocery shopping…)

