more joys of ginger

by Isobel

A lot more library-going than baking recently, sadly enough. Luckily for me there was a pre-midterm dessert potluck to (1) keep me from spending another Friday night at my carrel in the basement of the library and (2) give me a valid exuse to bake something (besides procrastination). It took me quite a while to decide what to make, but in the end I just went with some brownies. Brownies seemed a little boring, though, so I took the idea from those chocolate molasses cookies a while ago and made ginger molasses brownies.

cimg1232

Ginger Molasses Brownies (makes 12-16)

3/4 cup sucanat

1 tbsp flaxmeal mixed with 3 tbsp water

1/4 cup blackstrap molasses

1/4 cup margarine, melted

1 1/2 tsp vanilla extract

3/4 cup whole wheat pastry flour

1/2 cup cocoa powder

1/2 tsp baking powder

1/4 tsp salt

2 tsp ground ginger

3/4 tsp cinnamon

(1) Preheat oven to 350 degrees and grease an 8×8 square pan. (2) In a large bowl, mix together flour, cocoa powder, baking powder, salt, ginger and cinnamon. (3) In a separate bowl, combine flax mixture, molasses, butter and vanilla. Add sugar and mix well. (4) Add wet mixture to dry mixture and stir to combine. (5) Bake for ~22 minutes. Let cool, then cut up and serve. mmm.

