sweet potato snacks

by Isobel

I made the Chickpea Blondies from Have Cake Will Travel, which were delicious, but they also inspired me to use my obsession with sweet potato mixed with cashew butter for the greater good. So I switched up the recipe a bit (you can definitely tell where it came from, though, I can’t take that much credit) and came up with these blondie-type bars. They are a bit less desserty (although I would probably still eat them as a dessert…but I’m weird), but they’re nice and sweet potato-y, which is never a bad thing.

cimg1235

Cashew Sweet Potato Bars (makes 9 largeish squares)

1 can garbanzo beans, drained and rinsed

3 tbsp agave syrup

1 cup mashed sweet potato

1/4 cup + 2 tbsp cashew butter

1 tsp vanilla

1/2 tsp cinnamon

1/4 cup + 2 tbsp flax meal

2 tbsp quinoa flour

1/2 tsp baking powder

[soymilk if it needs a little liquid in the food processor]

(1) Preheat oven to 350 degrees and oil an 8″x8″ square baking dish. (2) Put all the ingredients in a food processor and blend until completely smooth. (3) Spread into prepared dish and bake for ~25 minutes. (4) Let cool most of the way, refrigerate for a while, and then slice up. (and freeze, if you’d like)

On another note, there is most likely no way I will be cooking anything for the next 2 weeks, as I will be busy being laughed at for my food preferences by French waiters. Hopefully my life will not be crackers and peanut butter, but even if it is, it will still be fun, so there you go. In any case, I will be back in a little while.

