I may need to give it a rest…

by Isobel

I made more soup…

I should probably branch out a little bit…BUT I am obsessed. Soup is just so good. And it’s rainy out. And I had leftover crushed tomatoes to use…so really, there was no reason not to make soup.

Coriander Tomato Soup (makes ~6 cups)

1 tsp olive oil

1 medium onion, diced

3 medium carrots, diced

6 cloves garlic, minced

3 cups vegetable broth

2 (14 oz) cans fire roasted diced tomatoes

1/4 tsp cayenne

1/4 tsp cinnamon

1/8 tsp paprika

3/4  tsp coriander

1/2 – 3/4 tsp salt, or to taste

(1) Sautee onions in oil until translucent. (2) Add half of the carrots and all of the garlic and sautee for a minute or two. (3) Add spices, some of the salt, broth, and tomatoes, bring to a boil. (4) Add the rest of the carrots, reduce heat, cover and simmer 5-10 minutes. (5) If you want to, puree half or all of the soup in a blender. Return to pot, bring to serving temperature, adjust salt to taste, and then serve.

(the spice amounts are estimates, I wasn’t really measuring, so you may need to adjust them a little bit)

