veggies for breakfast

by Isobel

I have come to the decision that vegetables should make more of an appearance at breakfast. Vegetables seem to be unfairly overshadowed by fruit, especially at breakfast, and this is sad. We should give them more love, after all, vegetables are good for you, and as far as I hear, one should eat more vegetables than fruit in that 5-9 a day. (I’m not saying I do that, but I can try, anyway)

I tried once to just cook carrots in my oatmeal…unsucessful (although pureed sweet potato is another story.) But I have finally found a delicious carrot-infused breakfast, inspired by raw food.

(almost*) raw buckwheat oatmeal (serves 2)

DSCN0162

1/2 cup kasha (toasted buckwheat groats)

1 large carrot, gated

2 tbsp raisins, soaked overnight in 1/4 cup water 

1 – 1 1/2 tsp maple syrup

1/2 tsp vanilla

1/2 tsp salt

1 tsp cinnamon

2 tbsp flaxseed meal

1/2 cup almond milk (or other nut milk, cashew would probably be good)

extra raisins for garnish

(1) Soak kasha (in enough water to cover plus about 1 inch extra) for 8-12 hours in an airtight container. Drain well. (this can be kept in the fridge for a few days after it’s drained, so you can make extra). This will yield about 1 1/2 cups soaked kasha. (2) Place soaked kasha, carrot, raisins with water, syrup, vanilla, salt and cinnamon in a food processor and process until well combined (can still be a bit chunky). (3) Stir in flaxseeds and almond milk. Divide into bowls and sprinkle with raisins.

*the reason I said “almost” raw is because I’m fairly certain that kasha is not really raw, as it has been toasted, though I’m not sure. To make it really raw you could use plain buckwheat groats, or oat groats for that matter, you would just have to do the soaking process twice.

