sugar and spice

by Isobel

I have always been a fan of ginger, and I have some fond memories of bags of ginger snaps…maybe it’s the Swede in me. These are a bit of a play on that flavor, although the taste a little more subtle. I have to admit, though, the real reason I decided to try this idea was that I just wondered what would happen if I put curry powder in a dessert.

Masala Sugar Cookies (1 1/2 dozen cookies)

DSCN0411

1 1/2 cups flour

1/2 tsp baking soda

1 tsp salt

1/2 cup palm sugar (or sucanat/raw sugar)

1/4 cup nonhydrogenated margarine (eg. Earth Balance)

3 Tbsp canola oil

1 tsp vanilla

2 tbsp honey or agave syrup

1 Tbsp + 1 tsp garam masala

(optional: cinnamon for the outside)

(1) In a medium bowl, mix together flour, baking soda, salt and garam masala. (2) In a separate bowl, cream palm sugar and margarine. Add in honey, oil and vanilla and mix well. (3) Add the dry ingredients to the wet ingredients, mixing well. Cover and chill for at least an hour. (4) Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. (5) Roll dough into 1 inch balls. (If you want, roll each ball in cinnamon.) Flatten onto a parchment lined baking sheet, between 1/8 and 1/4 inch thick. (6) Bake 10-12 minutes. Let sit on sheet for a minute or two, then transfer to a wire rack to finish cooling.

