very effective distraction method…

by Isobel

It’s appropriate that I’m avoiding going back to reading by posting this, probably, since I decided to make this recipe at 11 pm the other night instead of doing the same thing. But banana bread making was far more satisfying; my mental health relied on it, obviously, so it was forgivable, I think.

I decided I wanted to do a little more honey experimentation, and my roommate seems to have a banana bread obsession, so she helped inspire me. I might try to rework this recipe to make the honey flavor a little more prominent, but it is delicious as is, super dense and (dare I say it?) moist, just like perfect banana bread should be. Just with a bit of a unique flavor.

(As a nice anecdote, in my tiredness/too-lazy-to find a masher-ness I discovered that it is actually FAR more efficient to just squish the bananas in your hands into the bowl. Mashing is a total waste of time. I knew we had hands for a reason…don’t worry, people I fed banana bread to! I washed my hands before I started cooking!)

Mac-nut Banana Bread (1 loaf)

DSCN0422

3 very ripe bananas, mashed

1/3 cup canola oil

1/4 cup + 1 Tbsp Macadamia Nut Honey (really dark honey, if you can’t get it)

2 tbsp ground flaxseed mixed with 6 tbsp water

1 tsp vanilla

1/2 tsp salt

1 tsp baking soda

1 tsp baking powder

2 cups whole wheat pastry flour

1/2 cup rolled oats

3/4 cup macadamia nuts, crushed or pulsed in the food processor

(1) Preheat the oven to 350 degrees and prepare a loaf pan. (2) Mix together bananas, oil, honey and vanilla. Add in flax mixture and combine well. (3) In a separate bowl, mix together flour, salt, baking powder, baking soda, and oats. (4) Add dry ingredients to wet ingredients and stir until combined. (5) Mix in macadamia nuts. (6) Pour into the loaf pan and bake for ~55 minutes, until a toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean.

