tasty tea

by Isobel

A while ago I decided that it would be brilliant to go to Chinatown and buy a GIANT box of matcha powder for cheap. Good idea, of course, except that once I did that I started using far less matcha. As usually happens.

Since it’s close to summer and I’m trying to use up some ingredients, I am looking for new brilliant ideas for my tea, and this is my first go

Green Tea Snickerdoodles (makes ~24)

2/3 cup palm sugar

1/4 cup agave syrup

1 Tbsp ground flaxseed mixed with 3 Tbsp water

1/3 cup canola oil

1 1/4 cups flour (I used a gluten-free mix for these, but whatever you desire)

1/4 cup matcha powder

1/4 tsp baking soda

1/4 tsp salt

(soymilk as needed, if the dough is still too dry at the end)

(1) Preheat oven to 375 degrees F and line 2 baking sheets with parchment. (2) Mix together flax mixture, agave, oil and sugar, and set aside. (3) In a separate bowl, stir together flour, matcha, baking soda and salt. Add to wet ingredients and stir well to combine. (4) Drop tablespoonfuls onto baking sheets and flatten out the tops a little. (5) Bake for ~12 minutes, and let cool another couple of minutes on the sheets before transferring to a wire rack.

