finally back in the kitchen

by Isobel

After a long separation from the kitchen, I have finally been reunited with pots and pans. Although I have to say, based on where I was, I could’ve survived the separation pretty well.

Since I am home, of course I had to make muffins. Since it’s almost summer, I’ve been in the mood for berries, so these are a little preemtive (I used frozen berries since they’re not quite in season yet), but they should be perfect for later on in the season. I ended up tossing in some thyme and pine nuts at the last minute, instead of just making berry muffins, and it turned out really well. I’m always surprised by how well thyme goes with sweet things, no matter how often I use it. Anyway, if you don’t believe me, try it for yourself.

Berry Thyme Muffins (makes 6)

1 1/2 cups whole wheat pastry flour

1/2 cup rolled oats

1/2 cup sucanat or sugar

1 tsp baking powder

1/4 tsp baking soda

1/4 tsp salt

3/4 tsp dried thyme

1 1/2 Tbsp agave

1/2 cup soymilk

1/3 cup canola oil

1/4 tsp vanilla

1 1/2 cups fresh or frozen mixed berries (blueberries, blackberries, raspberries, etc.)

3/4 cup pine nuts

(1) Preheat oven to 375 degrees F. (2) Stir together flour through thyme. (3) In a separate bowl, mix together agave through vanilla. (4) Add wet ingredients to dry and mix until just combined. (5) Stir in berries and pine nuts. (6) Bake ~30 minutes, using the toothpick test to check doneness.

