save some for later

by Isobel

I am a big fan of not wasting anything if you don’t need to (broccoli stems, carrot ends, and onion nubs make wonderful broth, you know), and while I was in the bakery the other day I noticed that one of the bakers was draining all the pulp and juice from some shredded carrots for cake, and setting it aside. When I asked what they used it for, she shrugged and said “nothing…why?” Well, I figured I could find something to do with it, even if it was just to drink some carrot juice, so I quickly became the proud owner of an 8 cup jar of carrot juice and pulp. Of course then I had to think of what to do…

I happen to love soup as much as I dislike wasting things, so this seemed like a logical next step, no? Since there was SO much carrot juice to contend with, once the soup was done I put it in smaller, used-to-be-peanutbutter-jars (save those things, they’re useful!…kind of like carrot juice), and then into the freezer it went…some for now, some for later.

Carrot-Fennel Soup (~10 cups)

6 cups carrot juice

2 cups carrot pulp (I imagine that if you have a juicer, a bunch of large carrots would get you this ratio…)

4 fennel bulbs, chopped

1 white onion, chopped

3 cloves garlic, minced

1/2 Tbsp olive oil

1/3 cup white miso

1 Tbsp tamari

freshly ground black pepper, to taste

(1) Heat oil in a medium pot over medium heat. (2) Add onion and garlic, and cook until onion begins to soften. (3) Add fennel and sautee a minute or so. (4) Pour in carrot juice, pulp, and tamari. Bring to a boil, then reduce heat to simmer and cook until fennel and onion are soft. (5) Add miso,then place all the soup in a blender. Blend until smooth. (6) Return to pot and add pepper, to taste. Return to serving temperature, if you are serving it right away. Otherwise, ladle soup into individual containers; leave uncovered and let cool completely before freezing.

