spaghetti of the sea

by Isobel

ah, the kelp noodle. a wonderful creation. these things are uber-health foods, and I love them (partly because eating them makes you feel good about yourself, but I promise they are great). I know that a good portion of my friends will see the words “kelp noodle” and remind themselves that I’m absolutely insane, but seriously, if you have a natural foods store or a japanese grocery nearby, you should try them in some form (also a lot of raw food restaurants serve them). They’re basically like those “glass” rice noodles you get at thai restaurants, but sort of crunchy, and way better for you (only made of vegetable!)

One thing, though. I can’t figure out how one actually turns kelp into a noodle. This says they are  basically just seaweed, but kelp is definitely not a clear noodle shape. And I can’t find a wikipedia article…mystery abounds. I’d be interested to know…I wonder how much processing goes into these things.

But anyway, if you want to know what I did with them, here is an idea:

Kelp Noodle Vegetable Stir Fry (serves 1)

2 cups kelp noodles

1/2 Tbsp sesame oil

1 Tbsp tamari

1 Tbsp grated fresh ginger

2 tsp brown rice vinegar

1/2 cup chopped broccoli

1 carrot, sliced into matchsticks

1 head baby bok choy, sliced.

1 scallion, chopped

1 Tbsp toasted sesame seeds

(1) Stir together sesame oil, tamari, ginger and vinegar. Set aside. (2) Lightly oil a nonstick pan and place over medium heat. (3) Add broccoli and carrots. Cover and cook until bright (cooking, but still crunchy). (4) Add bok choy stems. Stir, cover and cook until vegetables are crisp-tender. (5) Add bok choy leaves, scallions and sauce. Stir and cook until bok choy is wilted. (6) Stir in kelp noodles until coated with sauce and vegetables are mixed in. (7) Toss with toasted sesame seeds and serve.

